Scientific and Technical Objectives

Science Team



The science team is co-chaired by the Deep Space 1 Flight Scientist, Dr. Robert M. Nelson of JPL, and the NASA Program Scientist for Deep Space 1, Dr. Tom Morgan, NASA Headquarters.

Fifteen scientists have been chosen to lead the analysis of measurements to be made by miniaturized instruments on board Deep Space 1. They are:

  • Frances Bagenal
    University of Colorado, Boulder
  • Daniel Boice
    Southwest Research Institute, San Antonio, TX
  • Daniel Britt
    University of Arizona, Tucson
  • Bonnie Buratti
    Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL), Pasadena, CA
  • Robert Brown
    University of Arizona
  • Wing Ip
    Max Plank Institute for Aeronomy
  • Jurgen Oberst
    The German Aerospace Research Establishment (DLR), Berlin
  • Tobias Owen
    University of Hawaii, Honolulu
  • Bill Sandel
    University of Arizona
  • Laurence Soderblom
    U.S. Geological Survey, Flagstaff, AZ
  • Alan Stern
    Southwest Research Institute, Boulder, CO
  • Nicolas Thomas
    Max-Planck-Institut fur Aeronomy, Lindau, Germany
  • Roger Yelle
    Boston University
  • David Young
    Southwest Research Institute, San Antonio
  • Joseph Wang
    Jet Propulsion Laboratory

Responsibilities of the science team:

  • Provide scientific input for mission planning and instrument operations.
  • Assist in instrument calibrations.
  • Assist in technology validation activities.
  • Reduce and validate technical and scientific data.
  • Prepare raw and reduced data for archiving for future use by the scientific community.
  • Analyze, interpret, and publish first results and findings in peer-review literature.
  • Support advocacy and liaison efforts between Deep Space 1 and the scientific community.

Projects Technology Science Education Whats New Home